Bristow Magicians named "Jurors' Favorite" at CANstruction 2006

April 30 , 2006 - The 5th annual Connecticut CANstruction competition was held this past April at the Connecticut Convention Center. It was a roaring success and by far the best this year. There were eight teams comprised of over 123 students and 38 architects who together collected nearly 20,000 lbs. of canned food.

"Make Hunger Disappear" was the mission statement of " The Magic Hat", created by the team of architects from TSKP STUDIO and students from Bristow Middle School.

"The Magic Hat" was proclaimed Jurors' Favorite at the CANstruction 2006 competition. The structure was based on the 3-dimensional design, created by Marek Falkowski, a TSKP STUDIO staff member. The three dimensionality of the structure struck the jurors, which led to the "Structural Integrity" award.

CANstruction, Inc. a not-for-profit foundation, which combines the competitive spirit of a design/build competition with a unique way to help feed hungry people via its numerous nationwide competitions. Using only cans of food as their medium, hundreds of competing teams, lead by architects and engineers, showcase their talents by designing and building giant sculptures. At the close of the exhibition all the food used in the structures is donated to local food banks for distribution to pantries, shelters, soup kitchens, elderly and day care center.

This year, seven members of the TSKP STUDIO staff joined hands with Bristow Middle School students to participate in the CANstruction competition held on March 31, 2006. Team members were: Dan LaMontagne, Marek Falkowski, Shivani Malhotra and Jennifer Rodriguez of the TSKP STUDIO staff and Collin Perkins, Joshua Florez, Kenny Smith, Noelle Ouellette, May-Tal Oskar, Michael Eden, Manas Sharma, John Taylor and Sam Maidman of Bristow School.

Awards given by the Jurors' were:

Jurors's Favorite - TSKP STUDIO, Architects Best Meal - Awarded to Bianco Giolitto Weston Architects Best Use of Labels - Awarded to Centerbrook Architects Connecticut Award - Awarded to Bartels-Pagliaro Architects 1st Honorable Mention - Awarded to Perkins Eastman Architects 2nd Honorable Mention - Awarded to Ames and Whitaker Architects 3rd Honorable Mention - Awarded to JCJ Architects

News Archive